Show & Tell

A french artillery shell from 1917

A french artillery shell from 1917

This artillery shell, that my great-grandfather brought back from the first World War, was used in my classroom as a way to bridge the gap between recess and class time. I chose to begin each lesson with a show & tell segment showcasing a historical artifact or an interesting book in order to engage students before forcing them to the grindstone to get to work. I found this exercise to be a fun way to interact with students in an open forum where they felt free from judgement and could ask questions without hesitation. This practice has helped me to draw closer to students and increase their capacity to learn in my classroom.

Class Participation

